top of page

9 Feb 2024

NSW Governor commends community life savers in Royal Life Saving awards ceremony

News and Media
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Each year Royal Life Saving Society NSW presents Commendation Awards to those people who have displayed outstanding initiative, expertise, and empathy towards their fellow human beings by applying lifesaving skills in emergency situations and sometimes at risk to themselves.

We were extremely honoured to have our Patron, Her Excellency The Honourable Margaret Beazley AC KC Governor of New South Wales host the Ceremony at Government House Sydney on Thursday 8 February 2024.

11 Certificates of Commendation were presented to members of the general public and 14 NSW Police Awards to officers of the New South Wales Police Force at the ceremony. Recipients are from all corners of NSW, from Forbes to Northern NSW and the greater Sydney region, and from the boarders of Queensland and Victoria.

Presenting the Commendations, Her Excellency Margaret Beazley said the courageous actions to save the life of a fellow human being amidst great danger reflect the pinnacle of selflessness and human compassion.

“Being equipped with first aid skills and knowing what to do in these situations is an important responsibility for each of us. I thank and honour the remarkable people we have gathered here today who have exhibited just that. Your bravery and selflessness are truly extraordinary.”

Royal Life Saving President, Mr Jim Whiteside, thanked the recipients for their instinctive call to offer assistance, their selfless responses and quick-thinking action in the rescue, attempted rescue, resuscitative or first aid efforts.

“Many of these outstanding recipients were not trained professionals. They called on past first aid or CPR training during stressful situations and embody Royal Life Saving’s vision for a community equipped with the skills to support one another,” Mr Whiteside said.

“In the 130th year of the Royal Life Saving Society, there is nothing more significant than to honour the efforts of these individuals. It also provides a timely reminder for community-wide recognition that we all have a role to play in keeping one another safe. We are inspired.”


  • Ms Thao Havebond

  • Mr Alberto Torres Perez

  • Mr Ethan Goldsmith

  • Mr Michael Brown

  • Mr Mark Hayes

  • Mr Frank Schlie

  • Mr Cooper Morgan

  • Mr Lachlan O’Callaghan

  • Mr Nathan Kirkwood

  • Mr Marko Skourmallas

  • Mr David Finn


  • Detective Senior Constable Brady Blanch

  • Chief Inspector Garry Sims APM

  • Constable Samuel Carpenter

  • Probationary Constable Huw Moore

  • Senior Constable Emily Riley

  • Sergeant Virginia McPherson

  • Senior Constable Christopher Lynch

  • Senior Constable Adam Cooper

  • Senior Constable Craig Michell

  • Senior Constable Timothy Lockwood

  • Constable Nicholas Murray

  • Senior Constable Robert McCallum

  • Sergeant Paul Nicoll

We thank and honour the incredible efforts of these recipients and all those nominated whose courage and selflessness is truly remarkable.

To learn more about these extraordinary individuals please refer to our 2024 NSW Commendations Awards Ceremony booklet below.

Photo credit @robtuckwellphotography

2024 NSW Commendation Awards Ceremony Citation Booklet (1)
Download PDF • 5.64MB

Related Posts

Δεν έχουν δημοσιευτεί ακόμη αναρτήσεις σε αυτήν τη γλώσσα
Μείνετε συντονισμένοι...
bottom of page